Open for Art 2017 – meet our venues

We host an arts trail every year as part of Open for Art, with over 30 venues involved across Reading Town Centre. Each venue proudly hosts a piece of artwork from local artists and its with great pleasure that we highlight these venues to you.

We would like to take this opportunity to thank all our venue partners, and the artists involved – its with all of you that helps make this event happen so thank you!

Here are the wonderful venues and their chosen artists involved in this year’s artist trail >>

Open for Art HQ (The Oracle, Lower Mall) https://www.theoracle.com/
Mei Ting SzeRhapsody in Orange

Manhattan Coffee Club (The Oracle)
Squirrel InkMa

John Lewis (The Place to Eat) https://www.johnlewis.com/our-shops/reading
Julie Simmonds – Morning on Broad Street

John Lewis (Furniture Department) https://www.johnlewis.com/our-shops/reading/john-lewis-reading-store-guide
Rukshi Brownlow – Light Metal

Workhouse Coffee Company http://www.workhousecoffee.co.uk
Helen Westhrop – Coffee Sacks Embroidered

Jacobs the Jewellers https://jacobsthejewellers.com
Sadie Brockbank – Horse with Riders

Nylon https://www.nylonhairartists.co.uk
Julie Simmonds – Reading Series

Electric Hair https://www.electric-hair.com/reading.html
Katie Francis – Made you Look
Suzanne Jones – Comfort Forms

The White Building http://www.thewhitebuilding.co.uk
Salvo Toscano – Selected Works

58 Barber Shop https://www.58barbershop.co.uk
Darren Lyden – The Shield of Desire

Lincoln Coffee House http://lincolncoffeehouse.co.uk
Peter Driver – Complete Equality 1

Frock’n’Roll http://www.frockandroll.com
Alice Coombes – Frida
Vassily Zavialov – Queen Elizabeth II


The Turbine House http://www.readingmuseum.org.uk/your-visit/permanent-galleries/riverside-museum-blakes-lock
The Engine Room – Every Human Heart

Simon Dowling Bespoke http://www.simondowlingbespoke.com
Matthew Potts – Localised Weather, DIY Unicorn

Blandy & Blandy https://www.blandy.co.uk
Kate Lockhart – Henley from Bridge

Forbury Works http://forburyworks.co.uk
Jim Attewell – Timestream 5

Malmaison https://www.malmaison.com/locations/reading/?gclid=CO2Q0Zbc4NQCFcyT7QodKnEDww
Rebecca Swainston – Imaginary Friend with Cat and Bird
Robert Fitzmaurice – Pipeboy

The Biscuit Tin http://redbeancoffee.co.uk/the-biscuit-tin/
Jo Thomas – Roundabouts and Waterways of Reading

Shed http://www.theshedcafe.co.uk
Mark Andrew Webber – Maps

Milk http://www.milkreading.com
Lisa-marie Gibbs – What if, we as humans were left with only our shadows? 

Launchpad http://www.launchpadreading.org.uk
Launchpad Photography Group – selected works 

Takeaway Gallery (Harris Arcade) http://takeaway.eu.com Ross Hale – Bark Beetle monoprints

The Grumpy Goat (Harris Arcade) http://www.thegrumpygoat.co.uk/
Lou Jessop – Frida

Adrienne Henry (Harris Arcade) http://www.adriennehenrymillinery.co.uk
Nina O’Connell – Orkney

Haslams https://haslams.net
Art Scope 

Nibsy’s http://www.nibsys.com
Laura De Moxom – Remembering Margaret Scissors, Remembering Margaret Garden Flowers

But is it Art? https://www.facebook.com/But-is-it-Art-189146441105893/
Simon MacKoon – Maximus, Paranoid

Eclectic Games http://www.eclecticgames.co.uk
Julie Calce – Brooding, Reflection

Tasting House http://www.tastinghouse.co.uk
Andrew Hood – The Face of Reading

Tamp Culture https://tampculture.co
Jon Lockhart – MUSIC 

White Stuff http://www.whitestuff.com/shop/reading/?gclid=CLPi6ZPb4NQCFW-17QodE7MECQ
Liz Mackereth – Through the Tree

The Castle Tap http://thecastletap.co.uk
gooey eye – four new pieces

Sonning Flowers https://www.sonningflowers.com
Emily Gillmor – Tulip V 

C.U.P http://www.cupreading.co.uk
Jenny Halstead – Subjective Paintings
Yan Chong – Subtractive Drawings

Jelly (Broad Street Mall) http://jelly.org.uk
Mark Langley – selected works
Salma Caller – The Bodies of Dolls
kitschx – #071, 072, 073

 

Artigiano http://artigiano.uk.com/locations/reading/
Misha Zavialov – Summer Solstice

Waterstones https://www.waterstones.com/bookshops/reading-broad-street
Ellen Jewell – Handbag Stories

Picnic http://www.picnicfoods.co.uk
Grace Lewis – You Are Here

The Blade http://www.thebladereading.com
Natasha Zavialov

Other venues to visit:

Castle Galleries https://www.castlegalleries.com/galleries/castle-galleries-reading
The Lemon Grove Gallery http://www.thelemongrovegallery.co.uk

All venues and locations can be found in our event map available to download here >> http://jelly.org.uk/wp-content/uploads/2016/05/OFA-A3-Concertina-Map-2017-Web-FINAL.pdf

 

, , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply